In these weeks, when the vacations rage, it is on the lips of all the news, newspapers and magazines the bad habit(unfortunately widespread throughout Italy) of the various managers/restaurants/bartenders to charge higher bills if the patron/tourist who asks them for a service is a foreigner. Unfortunately, this bad habit, which in the long run can only bring down the number of tourists who wish to come to Italy (this is because the "smart ones" who play on the passing tourist then do not think that the same tourists, back home, will certainly not make praiseworthy tales about Italy to their friends and relatives...) there is also on espresso coffee.
The tricks devised by baristas are different: from simply doubling the price if they have a foreign tourist in front of them(it seems that the category that is most tarred is those of Japanese tourists...and in fact now so many Japanese TV shows warn of the "Italy danger" and recommend other tourist destinations), to including "strange" and/or unsolicited services in the bill.
Some examples of scams:
Turin: in a bar in Piazza Castello, the price card is virtually invisible to even the most careful observer. There is a price list taped only in the interior walls where, on the last line, it mentions that prices are charged a 100% surcharge in case of important night events, holidays, etc.).
Venice: an espresso coffee in St. Mark's Square can cost as much as 6.5 euros, just as one can pay 8.5 euros for a cappuccino....and the whole thing is increased by 6 euros per person if an orchestrion is playing at the time.
Florence: here the coffee bill is arbitrarily increased depending on the type of tourist. An extra 50% if the tourist is Japanese, 30% more if American, 20% more if Spanish, etc.
The list is long (unfortunately) ... how can we do to stop this umpteenth massacre of Italian-ness where the Bel Paese is not so beautiful?